Sunday, October 28, 2012

PORK: It's What's For Tooth Decay

In my experience, most people are shocked and appalled when they discover that Jell-O is made from pigs' hooves. I guess they thought—as I did when I was a child—that it’s made of fruit and plastic.

So I have to tip my hat to the Frankford Candy Company in Philadelphia for their candor on the ingredients list of this Spiderman-themed confection. Jell-O = gelatin; gelatin = pork feet.

But why such full disclosure? Maybe the Frankford Co. is sensitive to vegetarians and the peoples of Islam and Judaism.

I doubt parents will read it, but I hope one or two kids do, and find themselves as amused (and disgusted) as I am.